Fayetteville Policies and Procedures  718.1 

Public Water System Cooperative Compliance Agreement

The University of Arkansas is committed to protecting the health of its students, faculty and staff, and the Fayetteville community of which it is a part. It is recognized that the University operates its potable water facilities and systems within the boundary of the City of Fayetteville's municipal water distribution system and is obligated by law to protect the public water supply. 

To comply with the requirements of the State of Arkansas Department of Health Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Public Water Systems, and with City of Fayetteville Ordinances implementing the same, the University hereby enters into a Public Water System Cooperative Operating Agreement with the City of Fayetteville. The purpose of the Cooperative Operating Agreement shall be to define the standards and requirements by which the University can design, construct, maintain, and operate its water distribution facilities within the operating license granted the City of Fayetteville for its Public Water System by the Arkansas Department of Health.

The Facilities Management Department, having the overall authority for facilities oversight at the University, is designated as the responsible agency on campus for the development, maintenance, and execution of the University of Arkansas Public Water System Operations Plan. This Plan defines the specific programs, policies, procedures, and responsibilities required by the Cooperative Operating Agreement to insure compliance with all applicable laws, ordinances, and regulations.

Reformatted for Web April 24, 2014
Revised September 17, 2004
June, 2003